Investigator(s): Dr. Audrey RICHARD-FERROUDJI
Dialogic exploration of futures for sustainable farming on overexploited aquifers (DIALAQ)

Groundwater resources are confronted with an increased risk of depletion and pollution leading to more water scarcity and crisis. Water users and managers are encouraged to develop strategies that also take climate change into account. The challenge is huge considering groundwater is an unseen resource that involves a large number of small and dispersed users that may face many other concerns such as land access or volatility of market for farmers. In this context, the DIALAQ project focuses on joint adaptation of agriculture and groundwater management. It explores the opportunity for (1) Fostering dialogue on long term issues and (2) Jointly considering issues related to water (surface and ground ones), agriculture and land.

In 2015, IFP and ATREE led a network that includes scientists from several disciplines, institutions and farmer’s representatives in France, India, Morocco and United States. The partners met for a 3-day workshop that was held in Morocco from February 23-27, 2015, and a project proposal was submitted in the framework of the Call for proposals for Transformative Knowledge Networks by the International Social Science Council and its partners. The network activities were supported by a seed grant from the ISSC under the Transformations to Sustainability Programme. This Programme is funded by the Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida) and serves as a contribution to Future Earth. Supplementary support for seed grants was provided by the Swedish Secretariat for Environmental Earth System Sciences (SSEESS), the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO), the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) UK through the Newton Fund and the National Research Foundation of South Africa.

The main partners are Craig Reece Allen (University of Nebraska, ULN, USA), Shrinivas Badiger (ATREE, India), Olivier Barreteau (ISRTEA, France), Chandrasekhar (Bangaaru Vaickal Neeraadhara Koottamaippu, India), Mohamed El Amrani (ENA Meknes, Morocco), Mostafa Errahj (ENA Meknes, Morocco), Patrice Garin (IRSTEA, France), Noureddine Harrami (UMI, Morocco), Janakarajan S. (MIDS, India), Marcel Kuper (CIRAD, Morocco), Gaia Lassaube (IFP/CNRS, France), Caroline Lejars (CIRAD, Morocco), Khalid Mouna (UMI, Morocco), Thanuja Mummidi (University of Pondicherry, India), Christopher Neale (ULN), Juan Ramirez (ULN, USA), Issam Sellika (ENA Meknes, Morocco), Laurent Ruiz (INRA/LMI CEFIRSE, India) and Issam Selim (ENA Meknes, Morocco).

– Funding Agency(ies): International Social Science Council (ISSC) & Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida)